Content - Archives

Monthly Archives: August 2013

History Prof to Lead University Faculty

Professor of History David Zonderman is beginning a two-year term as chair of the NC State faculty senate. In a recent interview with NC State's Bulletin, he outlined his concerns, hopes, and goals.


Kaitlyn Rogers: FLL Major Extraordinario

Kaitlyn Rogers is a double major in Spanish and Biology, president of the FLL Spanish Club, and a Jefferson Scholar. She's also an aspiring medical student. Read this Q&A to learn how her major in Spanish is reinforcing her career decision to become a doctor.


Four Named to CHASS Advisory Board

NC State's College of Humanities and Social Sciences welcomes four new members to its Board of Advisors. Three of the new members are NC State alumni; the fourth is a current student.


Here's My Degree -- Where's My Job?

Classes are just starting up at NC State. As freshmen find their way to obscure classrooms (where's Caldwell G108, anyway?) and other students tweak their schedules for a perfect fit, at the back of everyone's mind lurks the question: What am I going to do with the rest of my life? Professor Susan Katz's new e-book is designed to help students find the right job after college.


Wilton Barnhardt's New Novel: Lookaway, Lookaway

Wilton Barnhardt, professor of creative writing, published his first novel when he was 29. After covering stock car racing for Sports Illustrated, he came to NC State as a faculty member in the Master of Fine Arts program when it enrolled its first students in 2005. Barnhardt models his novels after the classics of the 19th century in the tradition of Charles Dickens and Henry James. He’s written sprawling novels about New York, Hollywood and religion. His fourth novel, Lookaway, Lookaway, covers the South.