Content - Archives

Tag Archives: English Feature

Poet John Donne, Live at the Hunt Library ... Almost

John Donne, one of England's most famous poets and priests, delivered his “Gunpowder Day” sermon on November 5, 1622, at London’s St. Paul’s Cathedral. Exactly 391 years later, he delivered it again on November 5, 2013, at the Hunt Library at NC State. Well, virtually speaking.


Linguistics Project the Talk of the Fair

If you speak one of the diverse dialects of North Cackalacky, you'll feel right at home visiting Walt Wolfram's display at the State Fair this month. Speak nicely and you may even get a button, courtesy of the North Carolina Language and Life Project.


What the Dog Knows

Cat Warren, an associate professor of journalism in the Department of English, teaches science writing, editing and reporting. In a completely different role, and working alongside the cadaver dog she trained, Warren also helps law enforcement officials search for missing and presumed-dead people. In her new book, What the Dog Knows (Touchstone Books, 2013), Warren has combined science, history and memoir to explore the world of working dogs that sniff out bodies, bombs and drugs, even unmarked graves of Civil War soldiers.


Here's My Degree -- Where's My Job?

Classes are just starting up at NC State. As freshmen find their way to obscure classrooms (where's Caldwell G108, anyway?) and other students tweak their schedules for a perfect fit, at the back of everyone's mind lurks the question: What am I going to do with the rest of my life? Professor Susan Katz's new e-book is designed to help students find the right job after college.


Wilton Barnhardt's New Novel: Lookaway, Lookaway

Wilton Barnhardt, professor of creative writing, published his first novel when he was 29. After covering stock car racing for Sports Illustrated, he came to NC State as a faculty member in the Master of Fine Arts program when it enrolled its first students in 2005. Barnhardt models his novels after the classics of the 19th century in the tradition of Charles Dickens and Henry James. He’s written sprawling novels about New York, Hollywood and religion. His fourth novel, Lookaway, Lookaway, covers the South.